Clark School
This Site

EIT News Story

MC2 Director, Faculty Named to President’s Task Force on Cybersecurity

MC2 Director, Faculty Named to President’s Task Force on Cybersecurity

Jonathan Katz, MC2 Director
Jonathan Katz, MC2 Director

Jonathan Katz, director of the Maryland Cybersecurity Center (MC2), and several other MC2 faculty are part of a just-announced President’s Task Force on Cybersecurity established in response to the recent UMD data breach.

The 18-member task force—led by Interim Vice President and CIO Ann Wylie—is charged with conducting a thorough examination of the university’s sensitive data infrastructure, followed by recommendations on possible additions or changes to current UMD technical and policy protocols.

Other MC2 faculty on the task force include Michael Hicks, professor of computer science, Michel Cukier, associate professor of reliability engineering and associate director of education in MC2, and David Maimon, assistant professor of criminology and criminal justice.

The task force also includes Amitabh Varshney, director of the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS).

Varshney is an expert in high performance visual computing as it relates to big data; Katz specializes in cryptography; Hicks’s research focuses on software security; Cukier is an expert on intrusion detection; and Maimon is an expert on behavioral and social aspects of cyber criminals.

Katz, Hicks and Cukier all have appointments in UMIACS.

March 20, 2014

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Ronning Receives Distinguished Service Award

Standing with our Asian-American Community

Clark School's Online Engineering Programs Now Ranked in Top 15 Nationally

Terrapin 'Works' Toward Relief Efforts

Dean Pines Named University of Maryland's 34th President

Clark School Participates in Solar Eclipse

Backups? Do you have a crash plan?

EIT Goes Google

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar